top of page

Grieg Violin Sonatas

Grieg’s three sonatas for violin and piano with Christian Svarfvar and Helge Kjekshus. Read more about the three sonatas.

"It takes a musician with a special understanding of the Norwegian composer’s melodic fantasy to open our ears to music of such balmy charm and vitality. I had never heard them in such committed, thoroughbred performances as these by Swedish violinist Christian Svarfvar. Svarfvar and the ever-supportive Kjekshus capture it to perfection."

Andrew Clarke, Chief Critic, Financial Times

Grieg Violin Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 8  

1. Allegro con brio 

2. Allegretto quasi andantino 

3. Allegro molto vivace  

Grieg Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major, Op. 13 

4. Lento doloroso - Allegro vivace 

5. Allegretto tranquillo 

6.  Allegro animato  

Grieg Violin Sonata No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 45 

7. Allegro molto ed appassionato 

8. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza 

9. Allegro animato

Listen here: Spotify

bottom of page